Shaving with safety razor causing ingrown hair acne

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by shadowfeind, Nov 24, 2016.

1. shadowfeind

shadowfeind Active Member

Hi fellow enthusiasts of wet shaving out there. I am relatively new at wet shaving. I have been shaving with a DE razor for about 5 months now. I use a merkur 34 with derby blades, badger hair brush and Taylor of old bond street sandalwood hard shave soap. I do 3 passes, wtg, xtg, atg. I do the pre shave prep by taking a hot shower and scrubbing to remove the dry skin particles and then step out of the shower proceeding straight to the shave. I am using as little pressure as I can while shaving. The problem I am having is an acne epidemic, I mean it is getting worse as the days go by. What am I doing wrong here? I love the shaves I am getting, much better than the ones I've had while using a 5 blade cartridge razor. The acne is far less now that I switched to safety razor but they still keep on happening. I would also like to mention that I feel like I need a sharper blade than Derby because sometime I feel tugging while going agt, and so have to do a lot of touch up, I can't seem to get rid of the stubble in one go. Hope someone out there can help me. In the mean time enjoy shaving and spread the knowledge.

Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk

Carbide Mike likes this.
  2. shadowfeind

Also I forgot to mention that after the shave is done I use an alum block on my face, wait 3 mins and then splash my face with cold water. Then I apply either proraso aftershave balm or lather and wood odorless aftershave balm. I am thinking of trying astra super platinum, Lord platinum and astra superior stainless steel blades. I have real high hopes for astra.

3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

4. NoobShaver

NoobShaver BGDAAA