Soft, Medium, or Hard? H2O in the US.

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by oldtrout, Jan 17, 2013.

1. oldtrout

oldtrout Well-Known Member

I assumed I have hard water, but according to the USGS I have soft water.
    Who knew? What are you using?
    HardnessMap.gif

gorgo2 likes this.
  2. Ryan B

Ryan B Knight of the Soapocracy

How do you tell which is which?

Edit: Ok, I figured it out. I am in the red. Most of my state has really hard water evidently.

3. oscar11

oscar11 Well-Known Member

In the red. I'm a former water plant operator now utility director. Our raw water (wells) comes in around 200 ppm and our treated water leaves the plant around 100 ppm. I've experiment with our raw and treated water and honestly haven't had issues lathering with either with the soaps I've tried.

4. oscar11

Ryan, the higher the number with the color the harder the water. The color code is right off the toe of Louisiana in the Gulf.

5. Ryan B

Ryan B Knight of the Soapocracy

Thanks for clearing that up. Maybe that explains why it's a pain for me to lather soaps sometimes.

6. Monkeylord

Monkeylord The Lather Lord

That map doesn't have to be an exact indicator of the water type you get, since it is probably just an average. I have medium hard water at home, and when I got to my folks place 20 kilometers away they have very hard water.

7. oscar11

My guess is it mostly pertains to ground water sources. Even in my area surface water tends to be much softer.

8. Monkeylord

The funniest thing is the water at my parents well, it's as I said hard , full of iron and very unpleasant for drinking (ergo they don't use it for drinking), but at my uncle's yard there is a well and the water is although hard not as hard as my parents well, and is quite good for drinking...and the distance between the two wells is about 20 meters :D

9. Kevin K

Kevin K Well-Known Member