Some Chinese Steel for Honing Practice

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by dkeester, Jun 3, 2017.

1. dkeester

dkeester Well-Known Member

I am still a straight razor newbie, so this is may be a bit premature, but I decided to pick up some cheap razors to start learning to hone.

Optimized-IMAG0622[1].jpg Optimized-IMAG0623[1].jpg Optimized-IMAG0624[2].jpg

I still need to acquire stones, so it will be a bit before I get started. That is probably a good thing since it will give me time to get more practice shaving with my Whipped Dog razors. I am looking forward to playing around with these, however.

Billyfergie, Keithmax, Spyder and 2 others like this.
  2. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

Nice. I just received a ZY, the other day. I hear they take a very nice edge. What's the one with the Trident, on the right.

Billyfergie, dkeester and Spyder like this.
  3. GarnerPW

GarnerPW Well-Known Member

Where did you pick those up at? I have been using a straight sense about February and just started honing last week. I enjoy my time in front of the stones when I can find the time.

Sent from my phone using some app

Billyfergie, dkeester and Spyder like this.
  4. Bookworm

Bookworm Well-Known Member

Billyfergie, Spyder and dkeester like this.
  5. dkeester

The Trident one is also a ZY. I got it here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/262593849132?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

All were from eBay seller "greatbigbrain".

Billyfergie and Spyder like this.
  6. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

7. dkeester

Those are really cool looking.

Billyfergie likes this.
  8. RezDog

RezDog Well-Known Member