Stepping up from my start up razor

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by virprobus, Jul 29, 2014.

1. virprobus

virprobus New Member

So I have been shaving with a safety razor for 3-4 months now and really am enjoying it. My first razor was a Lord L6. I have enjoyed this razor, and think it was a great starter razor but now that I know I want to commit to wet shaving I would like a nicer, more aggressive razor. I am looking for suggestions for a cost efficient step up.

2. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member

I would recommend a good DE Razor. I own a Weber 3pc. 85mm. W/Classic Handle. It's handle is 37/8inches in length. They cost about $75.00 depending on shipping in the CONUS. http://www.weberrazor.com/
    The Weber Razor is made in Missouri.
    Or you can Buy an Above the Tie Razor for a little more than twice the price. The ATT Razor is made in Tennessee. http://www.abovethetie.com/?store

Mr. Shaverman likes this.
  3. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Vintage: Gillette Super Speed Red Tip
    Modern: Merkur 37c
    Both are a step-up in aggressiveness from the Lord, yet neither will break the bank (approx $50 on the upper end)
    You'll see them come up for sale in forum classifieds or online auctions, The 37c can ,of course, be purchased new.

Bristle Me and PatrickA51 like this.
  4. gwsmallwood

gwsmallwood Well-Known Member

I was in your shoes a few weeks ago, and it comes down to a lot of factors. How thick is your hair, how sensitive is your skin, how much do you want to spend, do you think this will be your last razor or just your next razor?

For what it's worth, I have coarse hair and moderately sensitive skin, and had a budget of 50 so I went with a 37c slant. I'm also already looking for my next razor. I want to try an open comb.

If you're an average guy who wants a good quality daily driver at a reasonable price, I've read you can't go wrong with an EJ DE89L.

Bristle Me likes this.
  5. Bristle Me

Bristle Me Insufficient