Super Speed Flair

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Bryan Miller, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Bryan Miller

Bryan Miller Active Member

I just purchased a 3 razor lot including 52 ss, and 55 / 57 ss flairs.

I'm still new to wet shaving, and haven't figured out what suits me best. I have a Merkur 23C, Merkur Futur and a Gem Damaskeene.

I find the Futur a bit bulky, slippery and hard to use. I plan on revisiting it in the near futur. Ha! I like my Gem but await decent blades because CVS brand isn't cutting it. Ha x2! I find myself reaching for my 180 on most days but had a hell of a time today with a feather on its 3rd head and face shave. Let me feeling like Freddy.

Anyways, how are these models of the SS? Wht should I expect? Yes YMMV but do any of you use it regularly, etc. What blade do you prefer and so on.

I'm still finding my way in the daily journey that is wet head shaving. B&B essentials is breaking in amazingly due to excessive practice lathers.

RAD signing out!

Edit: Here are some pictures. I got all 3 at about $11 each including shipping. With some elbow grease and patience, I think they'll clean up beautifully.

Attached Files:

• 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      345.1 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      398.6 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      431.5 KB
      Views:
    alpla444 likes this.
  2. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

I had a....hmmm, it's been a while. I think it was a '63 Flare Tip Super Speed and it was a mild razor but was fantastic. I missed it enough that I'm actually looking at getting a 50's version that was replated, because it's just a great piece of shaving history. If you *need* an aggressive razor you probably won't like it, but for me it provided a comfortable shave every time.

alpla444 and Bryan Miller like this.
  3. Bryan Miller