Trying new soaps but allergic to tree nuts

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by chan4070, Feb 20, 2017.

1. chan4070

chan4070 Member

I've decided to move on from the first soap I've ever used, the Sir Hare barber shop soap and I was looking at the Stirling line of soaps but I see that almond oil is one of their primary ingredients and I am seriously allergic to tree nuts. Almonds, cashews, walnuts, etc.

I suppose my question is are that any really good alternatives that y'all can think of that I can transition too. And two, I wonder how concentrated is the almond oil in the soap.

2. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    Avoid that stuff. Except for Shea butter, topical applications of nut containing products can cause skin sensitivity issues in people with nut allergies.

Shea butter is the one exception.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional. The above information is based on internet research. I recommend that you double check it.

Almond oil concentrations are low in shave soap. Anything that isn't 'soap' affects a soap's ability to lather, so manufacturers try to keep the 'not soap stuff' down to less than 5-10%, including the sum total of skin care oils, fragrance, and other additives. Each manufacturer will have their own formula, and information like oil % is most likely a trade secret, so good luck getting that information.

Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  3. SpeedyPC

SpeedyPC Well-Known Member

Also you might want to keep in mind that Cella shaving soap also has almond too, just letting you know @chan4070 as your seriously allergic to tree nuts.

4. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

Route 66 ( retroshaveshop.com ) is an excellent soap that doesn't have any nut oils whatsoever that I could see. You absolutely cannot go wrong with either the product or the company.