used razor treatment

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by craigd, Sep 12, 2009.

1. craigd

craigd New Member

complete newb question here... What do you do for sterilization / cleaning / prep of previously used razors? Also do you do anything for this after getting a razor back from a honing service since they may test them? Am I paranoid?

2. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Are you asking about straight razors or safety razors?

3. craigd

craigd New Member

Both actually. I think I's be more concerned about straights though. I haven't started shaving with either yet - I'm still in my obsessive research phase :) My guess is that I will end up using both eventually - DE during the week and straight on weekends when i have more time.

4. Queen of Blades

It may be more productive to start separate threads then. A thread in the Straight Razor forum will get answers from the straight razor users. This thread will probably attract mostly safety razor users. The title is a bit non-specific and it's in the general forum. Some, not all, members gravitate towards the specific forum for the type of razor they use.

And now that I've said that, watch everyone prove me wrong. :)

5. Queen of Blades

Here's a thread for DE razor cleaning. And another thread.

6. craigd

craigd New Member

Thanks for the links, they kind of answer the question. I was more asking the general question of do people generally sterilize them and it sounds like the answer is yes.

7. TomPike

TomPike Active Member

I sterilize all of my razors when before using them for the first time. My usual routine (which is probably posted on one of the links JoAnna provided) is:

Scrubbing Bubbles (or similar product) - soak and toothbrush until it's fairly clean
    5 or 10 minutes in the ultrasonic
    More Scrubbing Bubbles if/as needed
    Rubbing alcohol soak and flush
    Sometimes I boil an all-nickel plate razor, but not usually