Variations in SuperSpeeds

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Lionhearted, Nov 2, 2007.

1. Lionhearted

Lionhearted New Member

I've been shaving for 40+ years and for nearly half that time my only razor was a SuperSpeed that I bought new in 1974. Since I started collecting and trying safety razors about six weeks ago, I now have four SuperSpeeds. What has surprised me is that they're not all the same in use.

My original U4 1974 gives an above average shave (although I've found some I like better — NEW, Tech, Schick Krona and red tip). A B3 1956 gives an identical shave. But a C3 1957 gives me a rough shave and an X3 1952 is outright horrible. I used the same soap, same brush, same blade and same technique.

I'm wondering if it's something in its past history that makes one bad, such as heavy usage (although I used my original one daily for more than ten years) or being dropped on the floor (no misalignments that I can see).

Could it be quality control or were there just enough design changes over the years to make some SuperSpeeds better than others?

Richard
    P.S. I'm conducting a little test here posting this in two forums to see how responses differ.

2. jbcohen

jbcohen New Member

I am personally The Shave Den's resident Super Speed addict. I have eight - two 40s, a 50s, a 60s, 70s, a red tip, blue tip and a long handle. Let me tell you there is a world of difference between each. Bronco is an authority on this subject, I hope he chimes in on the subject.