Vintage Gillette aggressivenes

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by banks741938, Jan 17, 2017.

1. banks741938

banks741938 Well-Known Member

is there a sticky or article somewhere that compares the aggressivenes or vintage Gillette razors. I'm just getting into vintage Gillettes after a generous pif I won that included a super speed. I really like that razor but wanted to know where it stood compared to others. Just trying to do some reasearch before I buy my next one. Thanks!

2. Jorvaljr

Jorvaljr Operation Daytona 8000

It's a mild razor. A old type is aggressive but it's a 3 piece. In the tto super speed like, the ranger tech and the red tip are most aggressive . The aristocrats are outstanding medium aggressive shavers or you can get a an adjustable.

3. preidy

preidy Just call me Dino

If you want the opposite of a Super Speed and (really) have your technique in check, try and a early Single Ring. If not (as indicted above) the Red Tip would be a good intermediate stop off point.

4. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

I believe there is a comparison table on the B&B forum site in their WIKI section.

HERM

PLANofMAN likes this.
  5. RetLEO-07

RetLEO-07 likes his penguin deep fried, with pink sparkles

Super Adjustable 109 all the way baby! I love my '71.
    :shaver
    Oh yeah, and my NEW SC!

Herm2502 and Linuxguile like this.
  6. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

IMO the British version of any of the Gillette razors seem to be more aggressive.

AcreLot likes this.
  7. Linuxguile

Linuxguile dating an unusual aristocrat

To me, the New Open combs have the perfect amount of aggression. Not as much as the old type, but more then any of the closed combs.

RetLEO-07 likes this.
  8. Eeyore

Eeyore Well-Known Member

If '71 is vintage, then I am a fossil.

Agree on the New SC, and the LC.

Herm2502 and RetLEO-07 like this.
  9. RetLEO-07

That would make two of us. Or would you rather "antique" than "vintage".