Vintage Razor Suggestions for a Newbie

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Jostalli, Oct 21, 2014.

1. Jostalli

Jostalli Well-Known Member

Looks like I will be antiquing with the wife and daughter on Saturday. If I happen to run across any vintage safety razors, what are the best choices for a newbie? Any to avoid?

Bobcat, RaZorBurn123 and Slow Joe like this.
  2. Bama Samurai

Bama Samurai with Laser-like Focus

Many look for Gillette's that are date coded to the year and quarter of their birth.

http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/US_Gillette_Dating_Information

3. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies

Get a Gillette NEW.

Herm2502 and Bama Samurai like this.
  4. Slow Joe

Slow Joe Relishing his obsession

When I was a newbie my first vintage razor was a Gillette Flairtip Superspeed. I wish it had been my first ever razor as it was so easy to use.
    To be honest I haven't found any of my vintage razors hard to use.
    Have fun antiquing:)

5. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

What Joe wrote! Any of the Super Speeds, well except the blue tip :) if you come across a Gillette Adjustable at a good price, pick it up for future use. Also look for an old spice mug, pretty cool to have. Have fun! :)

Slow Joe, ObiDon and dscaver like this.
  6. fram773

fram773 Well-Known Member

get an injector. They are the easiest safety razor to use for a newbie and are so comfortable you might be a Schick head for life. It doesn't hurt that they are usually cheaper than Gillettes. Watch out for the GEMs and Ever Readys too.

HoosierTrooper likes this.
  7. GeneralKinetics

GeneralKinetics Well-Known Member

I would look for a 3 piece Tech. The head geometry of those are absolutely fantastic and can be used with a sharp blade to rival an aggressive razor. Very "adjustable" and versatile.

Much easier to me than a TTO. You can also use the head on another handle with great results also.

Bristle Me likes this.
  8. HolyRollah