Vintage razors for a newbie

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by ob1page, Feb 10, 2016.

1. ob1page

ob1page Frozen in Phoenix

Hello all. I am wanting to make the switch from disposables and I'm looking for advice. For starters my facial hair is somewhat coarse and my skin is sensitive. I also, if it matters, have a mole on my chin, it isn't large and barely protrudes out but it is there. I am interested in a vintage razor because of the craftsmanship, quality and nostalgia. I have narrowed my choices down to a 68 Gillette Knack, a 67 Gillette black handle Super Speed M3, a Schick adjustable injector type M and an 52 Gillette black tip Super Speed X1. Which of these would be my best bet. I have been shaving for 20+ years but I know I'm going to have to start all over again and I want to put myself in the best possible situation. Thank you for reading.

2. ob1page

I should also mention that I'm not necessarily opposed to a new razor if that would be a better choice but I'd like to keep it under $40 if possible.

AGHisBBS and Robyflexx like this.
  3. Norcalnewb

Norcalnewb Magnanimous Moos

There are so many vintage possibilities, it is hard to narrow them down. I have used any of the ones you have listed, so take it for what it's worth, but I found the flare tip SS to be one of the better razors out there. The Ball End Tech razors are also very good. Either of these can be found at pretty good prices.

AGHisBBS and ob1page like this.
  4. Norcalnewb

Norcalnewb Magnanimous Moos

If you are OK with a new razor, then I think the Razorock Mission makes a decent starting razor. It comes with 20 blades, I think, and is $20 from ItalianBarber.com.

5. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

I'd say a slim, but you mentioned a super.
    your going to have to shave around any moles that protrude.
    the black tip gives a nice shave, is very easy on the skin as well.

6. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice