What's the best soap you've ever used and why

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by LevelupShaves, Apr 24, 2017.

1. LevelupShaves

LevelupShaves Well-Known Member

I'm pretty new to old school shaving but I have figured out that I like soaps more than creams. My favorite soap that I've tried so far is Smolder from the Blades grim. I love the way it feels smells shaves everything so far. How about you what's your favorite soap and why?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Drawer likes this.
  2. lightcs1776

lightcs1776 Well-Known Member

My best soap is Haslinger. I am currently using their coconut. The reason is twofold. First, I get a great lather that produces a very comfortable shave and great post shave feel. Second, it is affordable. Other soaps may end up coming close per use, but I am not going to even try to explain to my wife why I spent $75 on a single piece of soap.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Drawer, crackstar and LOOT like this.
  3. Paul Turner

Paul Turner outside the quote(s) now

Best one I've used so far is Stirlingsoaps Barbershop. Real pleasant smell for the cold weather, and the slickness feels great.

4. Fly2High

Fly2High Breaking Frugal

I assume you are talking about Martin de Candre. I got the luxury of trying it and it IS great! It really turns out to be quite affordable because you use less than half what other soaps use since it is triple milled. It will outlast just about everything out there

Drawer, crackstar and lightcs1776 like this.
  5. lightcs1776

lightcs1776 Well-Known Member

Yep, MdC. While affordable in the long run, it just won't fly in my house. As it is I get crazy looks for spending $15-$20 on a soap. However, I get what you mean by it being affordable over the life of the soap.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Last edited: Apr 24, 2017
    Drawer, crackstar and RyX like this.
  6. battle.munky

battle.munky Has the menthol.munky on his back!