Whats the best way to try a blade/blades?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Omelmad, Apr 17, 2014.

1. Omelmad

Omelmad My printer email address is..........

Hi

I have been waiting for my blade sample for a while, and with some messages between the vendor and express delivery I now have the my blade sample.

By the purchase of a blade sampler you now know that I'm a newbie to DE shaving.

In the wait for my blades I bought 5pc derby so I could get started. I'm pretty sure now that derbys give me razor bumps. And before I start testing my blades I'm gonna wait for the razor bumps to disappear.

Now to my question, I have 14 different types of blades 5pc of each as some 10pc.

Wich way is the best way of testing a blade?
    Do I use it only once? Do I use every blade 2-3 times? Do I use up the whole pack of blades of the same kind and then move on to a different type?

I know YMMV and all but I wanna know the best way to know how the skin reacts to the TYPE of blade I'm using at the time.

I'm gonna use the same soap and brush for the lather so that the performance doesn't vary because if the soap. My skin likes Proraso red as it's easy to get a good lather, so I think I'm gonna go with that =)

I know it's a lot of words to read above but I need help before I start my journey to get it right

2. cmorris357

cmorris357 catching flies.........

I would suggest using each blade at least 2 or 3 times unless it is obviously tearing your face up. Some blades have a coating that takes a shave or 2 to wear off and often the first shave is not the best. And of course if you have more than one razor be sure to try every blade in each razor. Sometimes what doesn't work in a particular razor works great in another.

Misphit likes this.
  3. Omelmad

I'm lucky because I have only one razor =P I hade the Muhle r89.