Which blade to start with?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Hirsute, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Hirsute

Hirsute Active Member

Greetings all. I'm new to DE and am diving in. I just purchased a large blade sampler to get started in a 1980 Gillette Super Speed. I was wondering: any recommendations for which blades I should start with? I know there will be a lot of variation and personal preference for what I end up liking, but I'm hoping you'll have some suggestions for milder or easier blades to start with. I'm especially curious since I'm new to DE, have sensitive skin, and am just back to shaving after ~ 10 years with a beard. Thanks all!

Here's what is in the sample pack I purchased (these will keep me busy for a while!):

• Merkur Super Platinum (10 blades)
    • Feather New Hi-Stainless Platinum (10 blades)
    • Crystal or "Israeli" (10 blades)
    • Derby Extra (5 blades)
    • Wilkinson Sword (5 blades)
    • Gillette 7 O'Clock SharpEdge (5 blades)
    • Astra Superior Platinum (5 blades)
    • BIC Chrome Platinum (5 blades)
    • DORCO Platinum ST-300 (10 blades)
    • DORCO Platinum ST-301 (10 blades)
    • Red Pack Israeli (5blades)
    • Lord Platinum (5 blades)
    • Sharp (5 blades)
    • Shark Super Chrome (5 blades)
    • Shark Super Stainless (5 blades)
    • Nacet Platinum (5 blades)
    • Super-Max Stainless (10 blades)

2. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

My advice -

Put them all, except the feathers, in a bag and pick one at random.

When you get ready to try the second blade, add the feathers to bag before selecting.

5Savages likes this.
  3. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus

What a great selection of blades! I'd have to agree with Mr Erik wait with the feathers until later, but other than that just pick em at random. Personally because I really like the cute little shark on the Shark package, I'd probably start there.. but that's me...

4. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©