Feather blades durability

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Avi Doron, Jan 24, 2016.

1. Avi Doron

Avi Doron Member

To all that are experienced with Feather blades:
    1) How many good face shaves should I expect from Feather blade?
    2) How many good face + head shaves should I expect from Feather blade?
    3) Would it be better for newbies to replace blade before its time in order to reduce unnecessary friction?

Thanks in advanced,
    Avid.

2. bdalemauger

bdalemauger Active Member

Avid,
    First of all I see your a newbie! Welcome to the Den and good luck in this new adventure!
    I'm about half way thru a 100 pack of Feathers so I have some experience but everybody's beard is different so keep that in mind. I get 3 shaves with 1 blade but I can feel a bit of tugging on the 3rd one. I don't shave my head ( It fell out all on it's own! ) so I can't comment on that, once you have some experience shaving you'll get a feel on how often to change your blade. Take your time and do a search for the 30 day challenge on this site.

AGHisBBS, Fred Hill and Avi Doron like this.
  3. Omaney

Omaney Well-Known Member

Welcome.

Nobody can answer that question. Only your experience can. My beard is likely different from yours. I get at least three, three pass shaves with a Feather. You may or may not depending on a number of factors. Buy a few packs and use them; that's the only way to know.

4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

I found that I liked two three pass shaves from feather blades. they could be used further, but I thought quality of shave was diminished.
    if your looking for longevity, I'd suggest you try persona labs. they seem to last much longer,ymmv, of course.
    oh and hello welcome to the shave den.

5. Troy M

Troy M Prep: Mephitis mephitis musk

I'm going to try a Feather next in my Blackbird. I hope to get at least 10 shaves out of the blade.

AGHisBBS, Fred Hill and Avi Doron like this.
  6. RyX