Worth a restoration?

Discussion in 'Razor Restoration' started by twhite, Sep 12, 2016.

1. twhite

twhite Peeping Tom

I got this razor for $5 this weekend. I was thinking of trying to do a restoration myself. I have never tried one before mind you. There is rust on the blade but the edge looks pretty good. So if I screw it up I will not be upset at all.

I have only honed a few wedge blades for my old SE razors. They have turned out very good. One blade I have over 10 shaves and it is still extremely comfortable to shave with.

So what say you?

I only plan on full disassembly to clean all the rust and a light polish to make it look presentable. Then if that comes out ok get some new scales. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Tom

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Billyfergie

Billyfergie The Scottish Ninja

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I Done this Old Cast Steel Southern & Richardson Sheffield Over the Weekend...It had No Rust Mind or Serious Heavy Pitting...That Tang has a Lot of Rust on You're SR with that Enclosed Design...I Used a Lot of Elbow Grease with a Green Brill Type Pad & Alloy Auto Sol & a Rag...It Took Me a While..I Decided Not to Use a Sand Paper Progression as it Can Take a Long Time to Get the Scratches Out..Maybe I Should have cause the Road I Took was Sore on the Old Fingers as I was at it for Hours..:happy097:

Billy..:chores016:

Last edited: Sep 12, 2016
    PLANofMAN, Jim99, alpla444 and 2 others like this.
  3. twhite

twhite Peeping Tom

I just removed the scales. They were super brittle. One broke on the pivot end. That pivot pin was really bent. I will take the blade to work tomorrow and drill out the pins on the pearl inlays. I do not have a small enough drill at home. [​IMG]

4. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I'm curios to see how bad the rust is, under the pearl. I've seen them for sale, and broken from rust, under the pearl. It's very thin steel. Be very careful.