New Guys SR Thread

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Redfisher, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Redfisher

Redfisher Doesn't celebrate National Donut Day

So here's what I'm thinking. We seem to have quite a few guys who are just starting out with SR shaving myself included. So I was thinking of a place where everyone could post the experiences they are having while learning this new art. This way we can talk about technique, successes and of course failures.
    I don't really intend to caretake here and hopefully our more experienced members will come by and offer advice and encouragement.
    As always pictures are part of the experience so remember, "no picture, it didn't happen "
    I'm looking forward to meeting all the new SR shaving guys here.

IMG_1537.JPG

Orville, brit, Tdmsu and 12 others like this.
  2. mrchick

mrchick Odd, Terrible Avatar

Good idea I'm still in my first year of straight shaving and having fun. I still have a lot to learn. [​IMG]

brit, Carbide Mike, Tdmsu and 12 others like this.
  3. Redfisher

Thanks for coming along Mr. C!

4. Pilotcld

Pilotcld Well-Known Member

I think this is a great idea! I will take a picture soon of what I shave with! I currently shave with multiple razors, but I shave with my SR on the weekends when I have the time!

5. Redfisher

So I guess I'm going to be first and get things started. I've always wanted to shave with a Straight Razor ever since I started wetshaving. Just couldn't do it. No way, no how. Bought a couple of razors off the Bay and made several half assed attempts. My hands would shake and basically I was afraid bad things would happen.
    So I put it away in my mind but later it came back, still no good.