Safety razor handle rotates all the way and I can even pull it out

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Alex7, Jun 15, 2017.

1. Alex7

Alex7 Active Member

Hello. I have an Edwin Jagger 89 DE. Today when I put the blade in it and tried to secure it by rotating the handle, it rotated all the way, without staying in place. I can even pull the handle out. The middle screw from the cap looks in bad shape, so I think that's the problem. I don't know for sure though. I have been using Cif Bathroom Ultrafast for a month about twice a week on the razor. Maybe that's what caused the problem.

RyX likes this.
  2. lightcs1776

lightcs1776 Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but it sounds like the screw is stripped. You can check out Maggard for a replacement handle and baseplate.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

jimjo1031 likes this.
  3. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus

Ya your cap stud is shot. This problem happens a lot because they make the heads completely out of zamak, even the cap stud. If you like the razor contact Edwin and maybe they'll send you a fresh one. A couple of vendors like Connaught also sell Muhle heads that are the same for about 20 bucks i think...

jimjo1031, RyX and lightcs1776 like this.
  4. RyX

RyX DoH!

Cif Bathroom cleaner contains Sodium Citrate, or citric acid as the cleaning agent. It should be safe for your zamak razor. I have a MÜHLE R89 and I think the only difference is the handle. I only give mine a rinse and dry towel wipe.
    Where is the spinning happening? Maybe the handle? Because the head doesn't have any moving parts.
    Muhle R89 Grande.gif

jimjo1031 likes this.
  5. Alex7

Alex7 Active Member

How often should I use Cif? I was thinking after every shave use toothbrush and dish soap and after every blade change (evert 4 shaves for ex.) use Cif.

6. Alex7

Alex7 Active Member

jimjo1031 likes this.
  7. Bookworm

Bookworm Well-Known Member