Recommendations for a DE Newbie & Opinions on the Merkur Futur

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by LSUfanBR, Sep 1, 2017.

1. LSUfanBR

LSUfanBR Well-Known Member

I have never used a double edge safety razor before as I've always been a little nervous to do so. However browsing the threads on this site have made me want to give a DE a try as they seem like they will last a lifetime and make a great hand me down item for a kid one day. I was just wondering what other members started with and would recommend to a newbie? I would like one that is at least 80 g in weight and at least 4 inches in length. I've been looking at the Merkur Futur as it is adjustable, it looks great, is over 4 inches in length, and weighs 125g.

FaceScraper, Jorvaljr and RyX like this.
  2. Enrico

Enrico Popcorn

Rockwell 6S Stainless steel let multiple lifetimes, 6 adjustment (3 reversible plates)
    An assembled Rockwell 6S weighs: 3.99 oz (113 grams)
    The entire razor is 3.74” (9.5 cm) long from cap top to handle bottom

3. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man

I wouldn't recommend the Futur or its Mingshi/Qshave clone as a first razor. Simply because it's such an outlier in terms of handling. It's huge, heavy, and has a peculiar and occasionally problematic loading mechanism. Many love DE shaving but hate the Futur. Buy something more mainstream. Depending on how much $ you want to spend..the Rockwell 2C is also a fine choice. I don't think adjustability is necessary or desirable in a first DE razor, it just confuses and complicates the learning process. Ordinarily I'd recommend a Krona or Tech but neither is very hefty, the Rockwell certainly is in either its stainless or Zamak construction.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

4. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

What he said ^^^. +1. X2.

5. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man