Question: Is Nivea's Men Cream OK as an aftershave?

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by Ahekog, Oct 24, 2017.

1. Ahekog

Ahekog New Member

Ever since i started shaving(recently) I've been using Nivea Men Cream for face,hands and body-so i was wondering if it was a serviceable option.I didn't have any problems but i am asking as i am new at shaving.
    This is not Nivea's aftershave product,just their regular cream for men.

Enrico and Ijustmissedthe50s like this.
  2. Demidog

Demidog Well-Known Member

You can use anything you want as an aftershave. You don't even have to use any sort of aftershave at all if you don't want to use anything. I usually put on some sort of cream after applying witch hazel or an alcohol based splash in the event that I don't follow up with a balm. I think that witch hazel or a proper splash is useful as a disinfectant and as an astringent but it's entirely up to you whether or not you want to skip that step and just go straight for a cream.

3. Ahekog

Ahekog New Member

Thanks for the reply :) I appreciate it.

Demidog likes this.
  4. Ijustmissedthe50s

Ijustmissedthe50s The Warnee

Ditto the above. Whatever makes your face feel good when you're done with your razor is an aftershave, even if you decide to just use air lol. Happy shaving!

Demidog likes this.
  5. BigMark83

BigMark83 [...........] this space intentionally left blank

Just like the title of @swarden43 says , “ "It's your shave, Enjoy it your way."©. ”

6. Eeyore

Eeyore Well-Known Member

Yes.

I use body milk too.

--
    Pitralon forever - Real pens have a nib - If it doesn't tick, it's not a watch.

Ijustmissedthe50s likes this.
  7. Spyder

Spyder Well-Known Member

I always use a very small dab of Nivea cream with a splash of witch hazel. I’ll usually follow with an aftershave.
    The witch hazel dilutes the cream and distributes a very thin layer. That combination has kept my skin from drying out. Part of my routine for a couple years now.