Are Synthetics Really Best?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Steve C, Jul 23, 2017.

1. oscar11

oscar11 Well-Known Member

I'd have to say no. There are favorite brushes for each individual shaver. There is certainly nothing wrong with synthetics or boar or badger for that matter. Use what you like and works for you. I do have a personal prejudice with horse hair. I doubt I'll ever buy a horse knot again but there are people that like them too.

2. Macktheknife

Macktheknife Active Member

The only synthetic that worked for me is the $11.95 Maggard black and white 22mm. Tried half a dozen others.

clint64 and Douglas Carey like this.
  3. Epicurean

Epicurean Active Member

I have been using synthetics from Razorock for a few years now but only just ordered my first silvertip brush from West Coast Shaving. Maybe I should also compare a best badger, and pure badger for a more balanced comparison. Does the hair differ from company to company? If I compare a silvertip from one company against a silvertip knot made by someone else, how much will the quality and performance vary?

Spyder likes this.
  4. jar

jar Well-Known Member

There is no real standard when it comes to naming grades of badger and often each manufacturer sets their own criteria and even naming practices. What may be Silvertip in one make might be Finest or High Mountain White or Manchurian or Best at a different maker.

Historically they were all simply called "Pure Badger" and names like Silvertip are a recent marketing device.

Spyder likes this.
  5. Kypros Christodoulides

Kypros Christodoulides Well-Known Member

These days most knots are sourced from China where the budger is considered to be a pest. Big buyers can demand for their specific requirements.

6. Marine68

Marine68 Well-Known Member

I like both. There is good and bad in everything.

Redfisher likes this.
  7. Kypros Christodoulides

Kypros Christodoulides Well-Known Member