Making lather

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Happy janitor, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Happy janitor

Happy janitor Active Member

I'm new to wet shaving, will do my first shave this weekend when i have plenty of time. In the meantime i did two practice runs of making lather. I'm curious as to what consistancy I'm looking for? I have west coast shave soap,ocean,smells great. Both trial runs i got nice thick lather that clinged to my brush reall well. Didnt see any bubbles. I'm surprised at how far just a little soap goes. Mixed it in a coffee cup the first time, second time was a much larger cup almost like a soup bowl with a finger handle. Second run i used a little more water,as i read a review that particular soap likes more water. Upon reading great reviews about stirling soap, i ordered 3 samples, and an after shave. I feel like i need options to compare things with.

9nein9, Primotenore, Spyder and 2 others like this.
  2. Linuxguile

Linuxguile dating an unusual aristocrat

To me this is the Holy Grail of lather consistency. What I call "Super Goop". Basically what your looking for is a nice sheen on the lather.

PastorAndy914, PLAla, 9nein9 and 2 others like this.
  3. Happy janitor

Happy janitor Active Member

Nice info. Thanks

9nein9 and Spyder like this.
  4. Spyder

Spyder Well-Known Member

Lather is variable and somewhat personal. Some like very thick lather, but I personally like it slicker with more water. You’ll find your preference after a few shaves. I would recommend that you stay with the same brush/soap combo until you get consistent results before introducing other variables. Don’t overthink it. Lathering soap is one of the easiest parts of traditional shaving:)

PLAla, 9nein9, GatorJoe and 2 others like this.
  5. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

:signs011:
    I struggled with what to write here yesterday, and didn't do so.
    This here is way better than I could have put down. Right on!!