Wired outdoor security camera setup?

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by James_P, Feb 8, 2018.

1. James_P

James_P Well-Known Member

Hey all,
    Anyone well versed in them? I’m looking for a good dvr setup with minimum 4 or 6 cameras. Good quality with night vision and won’t break the bank.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Douglas Carey and Bama Samurai like this.
  2. Bookworm

Bookworm Well-Known Member

I work with cameras off and on regularly with my normal job - I'm an IT consultant. The cameras are much the same across all the brands for the basic units.

Just pick up a 'name' brand kit, and you won't really have any problems. I'd avoid Night Owl, not because they're bad, but because they don't believe in actually giving support. I have two customers with Night Owl units and lost passwords, and NO won't even respond to my calls or emails.

Some things to keep in mind. The cameras are (mostly) waterproof. Their connections are NOT. At a minimum, get some of the self-sealing electrical tape to wrap around the connectors, even if they're under cover. Most kits come with 50 foot cables per camera. You can buy 100 foot 'extensions'. Do it. It's much easier than buying cabling and making your own; just the connectors can be $5 each for good ones. The cameras may be good for 100 feet of vision during the day. They'll only be good for 30-40 feet at night, as the IR LEDs simply aren't that powerful.

If you think you'll want 6 cameras, you'll need an 8 camera DVR. They come in 4, 8, and 16 for the low end residential/business cameras. (I think I saw a 12 once).
    Don't worry so much about the cameras. You can buy the DVR, then pick the cameras you want, and the DVR's will generally support them.

If it's for a small area, don't try POE - it runs the price up considerably.

To give more detailed suggestions, you'd have to say what it's for. (House, small business, indoor, outdoor, both, etc)

mrchick, DaltonGang and James_P like this.