High Milage Trucks

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by JohnDB, Feb 14, 2018.

1. JohnDB

JohnDB Well-Known Member

I drive pickup trucks for a work vehicle.

I work in construction. (Foreman)

I never bother with new. I always drive an older (10+ yrs) full size American made truck.

Now my last three trucks (which actually have made it a total of 25+ yrs) have been a Dodge followed by two Ford f150's.

I'm thinking that it's time to junk my current 2000 Ford and get another truck.

I'm planning on spending roughly 6k.

I seen a lot of Chevys out on the road. But never owned one. My father has...but it had transmission issues. So I've avoided them.

What older truck would you recommend?

I can say that Ford's eat bearings and fuel pumps at the wrong time (if there ever was a good one)
    Dodge has issues with u-joints and transmissions and eats brake pads pads faster than anything.
    Neither one has electric windows that work for long. But the manual windows seem to hang in there.

Also...Dodge's will have issues with the catalytic converter. They plug up and have to be replaced. The "stainless steel" exhaust system is usually a joke.

So what do you know about Chevys?

2. RyX

RyX DoH!

My most often done Chevy repair; Rear wheel bearings and seals. Gotta pop the differential pan, dump the 90 weight oil, and requires a new gasket. The axles are held in place by a Chinese puzzle of a bolt, a pin, & a C shaped clip on the end of the shaft. Need a bearing puller/ slide hammer to extract old parts.

Erik Redd and JohnDB like this.
  3. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself