Buying To Start My Vintage DE Razor Collection ?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Django, Apr 11, 2018.

1. Django

Django Member

Hi, I'm new to DE shaving but would like to start collecting and would appreciate you thought on these items.
    Any info would be great.
    Thanks .
    Django
    "VINTAGE POCKET RAZOR"
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    That has an Old Type head. They can be aggressive, but they can be tamed by riding the cap. That is one I do not have now. I would love to have one though. They are hard to find, at least for me. Silver plated.

RyX, brit and Django like this.
  3. 178-bplatoon

178-bplatoon Well-Known Member

Good start. :happy088:

Django likes this.
  4. Terry Williams

Terry Williams Well-Known Member

You have a great example of an "ABC" Pocket Edition from somewhere around (1908). I have one, but my case is not as nice as yours in either condition nor embellishment. Gillette made these for the American Button Company. Lots of great information here:
    https://www.badgerandblade.com/foru...y-pocket-edition-sets-part-one-razors.147111/
    Awesome find! Congratulations!

Edit: I'm sorry I had it backwards. The American Button Company was contracted by Gillette to produce these razors. But, they shine up like the Dickens with a good metal polish.
    Before
    _DSC7643 (1).jpg
    After
    _D800101.jpg

Last edited: Apr 11, 2018
    RyX, Jim99, Django and 1 other person like this.
  5. John Ruschmeyer

John Ruschmeyer Well-Known Member

I've sen a couple of great threads on the ABC sets over on another site.

As I understand it, Gillette made the razor heads and contracted ABC for the cases and handles. When thew contract ended, Gillette took over production themselves.