Clear the Den (Not Hardware)

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by Flyingbald, Nov 24, 2018.

1. Flyingbald

Flyingbald Member

I have been on a personal challenge of excess vs necessity. I’m fairly new to the DE / SE shaving (5 years) and as I can only imagine, many of you went down the same rabbit hole. Way too many razors, soaps, aftershaves, blades, etc...

Hardware obsession I can understand. So many razors, so many choices, and so many varying results. Easy to solve as you can swap and sell.

The challenge? I had so many soaps and aftershaves, I wanted to see how long it would take to clear out all my soaps, aftershaves, or similar products.

Well, it’s been almost a year since I have purchased any soaps or aftershaves. By the looks of it, I still have another year left! Goodnight!

Just curious to know if any such challenge has crossed your mind. I took on this hobby of wet shaving to save money and it was clearly a better shave. I suppose I’m saving money now but the first few years was a rabbit hole. I have enjoyed the journey and love the other fellow wet shavers and community.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. RyX

RyX DoH!

Sounds like you did an unassisted solo No Buy 2018. Congrats!

There's a support group that will be forming for NB'19 if you'd like to help lead the charge up that mountain of excess product. An informal "use up soaps" contest has been going on in The 30 Day thread. Ironically the prize is a tub of soap.

In several years I've sampled and tried enough gear that I'm more discerning about filling in the gaps in my lineup. Slowing the acquisitions is only half the problem. Once I learned to use what I have there's an excess of what I should have passed on. I've found a couple homeless shelters that happily receive soaps and aftershaves that don't work for me.

3. ordinaryshaver

ordinaryshaver Well-Known Member

Wait, you mean people get in this to SAVE money?