Ring worm on a bald head

Discussion in 'Skincare' started by Baldy123, Dec 27, 2018.

1. Baldy123

Baldy123 New Member

Hi, I bic my head every couple of days. I just got ring worm on my scalp near my ear. ( Im a wrestling coach)

Do I need to take oral anti fungal? Or can I use topical products?

From my reading the ring worm gets into the hair folicle, but I was thinking since I shave my head, I might be able to avoid taking oral antifungals.

Has anyone experienced this???

RyX likes this.
  2. RyX

RyX DoH!

I have a couple grandkids that live with me - public schools are breeding ground for all kinds of interesting diseases and parasites! Not being a member of the Health Care profession I'll let someone else offer advice on that.

Welcome to TSD @Baldy123! I do hope someone has the answer to your question. If you have any other shaving related inquiries feel free to post over in The Welcome Center and make your introduction.

brit likes this.
  3. John Beeman

John Beeman Little chicken in hot water

You might be able to avoid the oral medication but this is one area where you would be well to use the full arsenal of available means.

You want to kill this thing quick and keep it from spreading. Not to mention that your job as a coach will presumably keep you exposed to the source.

MR41 and brit like this.
  4. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Tea tree oil should zap it.

MR41, RyX and Enrico like this.
  5. Enrico

Enrico Popcorn

I've used Tea tree oil on Athletes foot and it worked great. If it's too strong, you can mix it 50/50 with olive oil. Smells nice too.

By the way ... it you're re-using razors or blades; I'd put some isopropyl alcohol in a jar and slosh your razor / blade after each use, to avoid recontamination.

Just my 2ยข.

Last edited: Dec 27, 2018
    MR41, RyX and gorgo2 like this.
  6. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood