Do any shaving creams clog sinks?

Discussion in 'Shave Creams' started by 7055, Oct 15, 2016.

1. Mike Brown

Mike Brown Well-Known Member

I've been a plumber for forty years and I use all three Proraso soaps and all four creams. I do not find shaving product to e any worse on drains than toothpaste or any other "bathroom" products. Unless hot water is used frequently, most shaving products will eventually clog drains---do mine clog? No, but I do use a lot of hot water.

AGHisBBS and Carbide Mike like this.
  2. Jason Knight

Jason Knight New Member

It is common that the drain lines get clogged up with an accumulation of shaving foam, soap scum or other items like hair. Using home DIY's like vinegar-baking soda, chemical cleaners(use it carefully), tools like snake or augers are the best options if we have to deal with the clogged drains. If a homeowner is unsure about any of these methods or if you tried them and they didn't work, seeking help of a plumbing service north NJ is the good option. Either way, you are sure to get the job done!

3. 7055

7055 Active Member

Rather than use some chemicals to unclog the sink, I just bought about a 10 dollar replacement for the tubing that goes just under the sink drain at Home Depot and replaced it.

4. Shave Fu

Shave Fu Shavette Sensei

I don't know if creams clog the sink, but i noticed that my Proraso cream, leaves a white film all over my razor, despite rinsing it under tap water. The razor looks like it was used for 20 years. I have to clean the razor with microfiber cloth to bring the shine back.

At any case, the best thing to do, is prevention. Once every 7-15 days, just drop baking soda in your sink and pour boiling water over it. It works very well, it was reccommended by a plumber. The science behind it is this:

NaHCO3 (baking soda) + H2O ----> H2CO3 (mild acid) + NaOH (strong base)

What follows is:

H2CO3------> H2O + CO2