Son of a _______

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Missing Lynx, Apr 2, 2019.

1. Missing Lynx

Missing Lynx Well-Known Member

Hello all. (nervous foot shuffling)

I have never introduced myself on here even though I have been posting on here for a while. My name is Jim, and I am the son of a Jim who was a pretty longtime member here who went by the name of Misphit. Dad passed away earlier this year from complications from a car accident he had the previous year. I started coming here with him so he could keep up with the boards and people. After his death I waited a while before creating my own login because suddenly I found myself with drawers, shelves, and cubbyholes stuffed with razors (cased and loose), new and old blades, shaving mugs, and all sorts of shaving paraphernalia that I have little to no knowledge of. I have been trying to sort, identify, photograph and put some semblance of order into his.... acquisitions. I use that term because it is to big for a collection and is borderline on obsession. I reported elsewhere that my mom had passed recently too, and by using some inheritance money I have purchased some of the top end razors that he had on his wish list. Pretty soon I will be asking questions.. lots of them and you will be getting tired of me asking them because I know very little of the history of shaving. I have inquired about advertisement years so I can try and figure out when things were made/sold. I use mr-razor for Gillettes, a Schick injector page I found, and his digital copy of the waits compendium to try and make more sense of it all. Right now the plan is that I will be keeping and sorting all of his gear, but I may offer up some duplicates or triplicates that he had as time goes which will be determined at a later date. I thank you in advance for letting me become a pain in the @$$ with all the questions I will be asking and look forward to any resources you can provide when I get stuck. Fortunately my wife gets the easy cle