Best Safety Razor/Blade Combo For Beginners

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by NathanASams, May 28, 2019.

1. NathanASams

NathanASams New Member

I'm pretty new to the world of wet shaving, transitioned over because I couldn't find a way around avoiding razor burn with a cartridge. I'm currently using a VikingsBlade "The Godfather" with Shark blades and the VikingsBlade brand blades as well. I really love the razor because it has dramatically improved my razor burn situation. That being said I'm just not getting as close a shave as I would like. I am worried about trying Feather, or other more aggressive blades because I know they will give me a closer shave, but if I start using them will I go back to having Razor Burn issues? The Godfather razor is already desigend to be extremely forgiving for beginners and I'm still learning the technique, but will I get the perfect balance if I'm using a forgiving safety razor with a more aggressive blade and proper technique? Also I shave with the grain. I would love to hear everyone's thoughts or any advice

178-bplatoon, gorgo2, brit and 2 others like this.
  2. Moose

Moose Well-Known Member

@NathanASams, I find that a sharper blade (Feather) in a mild razor is actually more comfortable. In theory, a sharper blade will cut the hair better. Meaning you don't have to go over the same spot as many times. Make sure to reapply soap or cream for each pass or small touch up pass.

Last edited: May 28, 2019
  3. BBS

BBS Well-Known Member

Before you starting throwing good money after bad buying razors chasing a better shave that never materializes understand and master the following with your existing razor.

You'll see people throw around words and terms without any understanding what they are talking about so I'll try to define things in a way that is easily understood.

Mild refers to razor that feel well mild on the face aka pain response. Little to no irritation or cuts