Does speed matter?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by peacefrog, Feb 20, 2007.

1. peacefrog

peacefrog Jet Setter

We hear lots of advice about blade angle, pressure, and length of strokes, but I've never heard anyone mention the speed of the stroke. It seems to me that the blade would cut more easily if the stroke is swift rather than slow. As a woodworker, I think about using a hand plane. It takes a certain amount of speed to get a good cut or the plane sort of chatters its way down the board. Do you suppose the same thing might apply to shaving? Should we be advising short, swift strokes?

2. Will

Will Nevermind

I like to use a quick stroke.

I feel if I go too slow that the hair gets tugged or doesn't cut at all.

3. Baron

Baron New Member

That's a tough one. I find that a really slow stroke makes it harder to keep the angle correct, cause I concentrate too much on it, plus the blade starts to tug.

But on the other hand, too fast when starting and you're likely to mess up just as much.

I guess I'd describe the best speed for me as "a little slower than freefall" any faster and I'm forcing it, slower and I start to get tugs

4. SSLSTudio...

SSLSTudio... Forum Debugger

excellent ideas Bob, it so happend that today after a long time I got that BBS faceturbating shave again.. everything just fell in place. the right amount of lather versus right speed I went pretty swift on the cheeks , around the chin I slower with speed due to the curves. but I got an amazing shave today and part of it is due to probably right speed versus great lather...

5. qhsdoitall

qhsdoitall Wilbur

It depends on good my technique is and how awake I am at the time. I'm not ready to do laps araound the speedway unless I feel like replacing the turf with a skin graft.

6. xChris

xChris Member