Brushmakers Thread - Calling all Turners

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by jtspartan, Mar 4, 2019.

1. Tanuki

Tanuki Well-Known Member

I like the creativity of doing the inkwell stands, there aren’t many practical constraints on form. Here are three vaguely based on chess pieces.

95CC77DB-F2E5-4244-99E6-C3A3A458D72E.jpeg

Dave in KY, Jayaruh, Ron R and 4 others like this.
  2. jtspartan

jtspartan appropriately stimulated, via Netflix

These are cool! You’ve given me some inspiration... now I just need the time to get back into the lathe room!

Tanuki, 9nein9, brit and 1 other person like this.
  3. brit

brit in a box

very cool sir..nice work..

9nein9 likes this.
  4. jtspartan

Thanks, Patrick, but I’m no pro. Just a hobbyist.
    I know your bowls will be awesome.

RyX, brit and 9nein9 like this.
  5. Tanuki

Tanuki Well-Known Member

I-X collet chucks incoming! Direct from Beall, which seems like a nice little operation. Can’t wait to use them, but I do have a project to finish turning first. I am particularly looking forward to being able to hold a brush handle, then rechuck it to tweak the shape for the perfect feel. (Or to totally destroy it if I get sloppy or try to rush - ain’t turning great!)

This will motivate me to dive into the woodpile and make up more brush blanks to season. Plenty of blanks so far, half a dozen knots waiting to be set, but no brush handles have made it any further than the reject bucket. Well, one was drilled deep to convert into a really tall razor stand.

Thanks again for pointing me to them. ‘I-X’ was the key to unlocking the internet.

RyX, brit, Jayaruh and 2 others like this.
  6. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

Yup. I will be using it monday morning!

RyX, 9nein9, brit and 1 other person like this.
  7. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

Looks even better once it bloomed!

Hembree, RyX, brit and 1 other person like this.
  8. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

Yesssss I do.

9nein9, Hembree, brit and 1 other person like this.
  9. Tanuki