Any bourbon/scotch drinkers?

Discussion in 'The Good Life' started by Tiredricefarmer, Dec 30, 2019.

1. Tiredricefarmer

Tiredricefarmer Well-Known Member

Thinking of getting into trying different brands of bourbon and was wondering if we had any hobby bourbon drinkers here at The Den. Would like to hear your thoughts and opinions about your favorites and any great bourbons to start with.

Was considering trying something from Buffalo Trace Distillery and would welcome any thoughts or comments.

Happy New Year to all!

Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  2. Enrico

Enrico Popcorn

I haven't tried that one yet, but definitely enjoy my bourbon on my time off. I've been working my way through the varieties, but keep returning to Evan Williams. When this bottle run low I'm thinking of trying Four Roses.

:eatdrink013:

3. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

I'm a reformed hobbyist. Lots of people I know like the Buffalo Trace offerings but it was never one of my favorites. That doesn't mean you won't like it.

It really doesn't matter what other people think, it is you drinking it. That said, the only exception is Old Crow. That stuff is horrendous.

4. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

I prefer rye to bourbon, but if I am drinking bourbon, it will be Basil Hayden's.

5. PLAla

PLAla Bit Shy of a Full Puck

Old Forester (86 proof) is a very good, inexpensive bourbon. I've tried a lot but it's my mainstay.

6. PLAla

PLAla Bit Shy of a Full Puck

I like rye as well. I enjoy Manhattans and make those with rye.

Tiredricefarmer likes this.
  7. Tiredricefarmer

I haven't tried their offerings either. Heard a few who said some of their stuff was really good but can be hard to find. They make Old Charter and Ancient Age. They also have offerings that cost in the hundreds of dollars to one that runs $6,500.00 :eatdrink047:!

Enrico likes this.
  8. Tiredricefarmer

Old Crow makes me think of my young and stupid days! :signs136:

Herm2502 likes this.
  9. Enrico