My own Shaving Soaps

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Travis Arnold, Jun 20, 2020.

1. Travis Arnold

Travis Arnold New Member

Good evening and I'm a new member wanting to introduce myself.

I believed that I had a genius shower idea a few months back and now I'm wondering if I haven't bitten off more than I can chew. I am an Army veteran and former law enforcement officer now working in a sales job. For the first time in my life, I have been allowed to grow a beard, which I did happily.

Ever since I started shaving, I've had horrible problems with razor bumps and it became excruciating while I was in the military, primarily due to dry shaving in the field. For a brief period, I had switched to using shaving soaps when I was in the military and I absolutely loved it, but that was limited to when I was back in garrison. The combination of the soaps and a safety razor seemed to fix my neck issues.

Fast forward a decade or so and my shower thoughts were pondering over different business ideas for me to finally try my hand at being an entrepreneur. My "grand idea" was to take my experiences that I had in the military and try to develop a shaving soap that can be efficiently used in the field, while still having the premium feel of a high end shaving soap at home.

That's where I am at today. A few months of R&D and trying out different combinations of hot press, melt and pour and other soap formulas led me to my current formula. I'm using 4 oz aluminum tins, with twist caps and gasket to help avoid any leaks. I've been using on myself for the past month, with no issues (goodbye beard.) I just recently brought some samples to local barbers for their input and it seems to be positive.