Gillette Aristocrat buying guidance and advice for a new DE razor user.

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by CarlosStuff, Nov 9, 2020.

1. CarlosStuff

CarlosStuff Member

Hi all,

I've come across a 1940s Gillette Aristocrat razor, seller asking around 50 bucks, and since I have no experience buying DE razors, this potentially being my first, I was hoping to get some advice and guidance on what to ask for and be aware.

The seller doesn't give a lot of info about the razor, but from what i have found in this forum, seems to be a 1940 ish Gillete Aristrocat.

[ 2222222.JPG 21312213.JPG qw2w2we.JPG 12121JPG.JPG 11,jpg.JPG 1,jpg.JPG

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I have little to non-experience using DE razors, so any advice is welcome.

Also, as a new DE user, Do you recommend me to better buy a new one like a Edwin Jagger De89lbl?

Thank you all and have a great day!.

brit and Ijustmissedthe50s like this.
  2. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

If you are just starting out and looking for a comfortable shave, that will work. Any number of other razors, including the EJ, will also work.

Find one that you like and spend the time needed to learn to use it. Don't get caught up in chasing down the perfect razor as it doesn't exist.

Tastes change as skill level and experience change.

I cannot help with price as I haven't kept up on that stuff for a number of years.

Good luck and enjoy.

Ron R, MrEE, Jesseix and 4 others like this.
  3. brit

brit in a box