The almost sort of Comprehensive Guide to the Gillette Tech

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by PLANofMAN, Aug 9, 2018.

1. brit

brit in a box

brit flat bottom tech/french solid thin handle

1.jpg

MacDaDad, PLANofMAN and Aztecmike like this.
  2. brit

brit in a box

canadian 4 piece
    20210127_102721_edited1.jpg

MacDaDad, Aztecmike and PLANofMAN like this.
  3. Northstonehill

Northstonehill Active Member

I am a Tech nut myself. My newest acquisition is this wonderful French version (made in UK) 1950 Tech with hollow handle. Superb shaver and just simple and nice. I have owned several others and prefer the post-war baseplates and the fat handles.

...Oh, and then my longest love affair has been with the Hybrid Tech, the best shaver of all 100+ vintages I ever tried. I am lucky to own two specimens, one with each of the baseplate engravings I think was made for this razor...

C5252F19-55B7-4E48-AAC0-17E8CD500D29.jpeg

Last edited: Jan 30, 2021
  4. brit

brit in a box

fine french tech..:cool:..

MacDaDad likes this.
  5. brit

brit in a box

a canadian flat bottom tech/4 piece handle.. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

MacDaDad, Aztecmike and jimjo1031 like this.
  6. brit

brit in a box

canadian flat bottom tech cap is unique to this model.has a double crease or flat spot.different to the brit model,canadian prewar and and post war.
    20210205_133133_edited.jpg 20210205_133214_edited_edited.jpg with this etching on the cap i would date it aroung 1947-9 ish..

Aztecmike and jimjo1031 like this.
  7. brit

brit in a box

After a little careful measuring with a caliper ,the cap of the Canadian flat bottom Tech is slightly narrower edge to edge than the British version.In theory and slightly visibly it would appear that the Canadian version has more blade exposure and gap.Feels a touch more efficient than the Brit as well.:)
    Canadian on the left..
    [​IMG]

8. BBS

BBS Well-Known Member

Another flat bottom tech variation
    tech1.jpg tech2.jpg