This might be a stupid question

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by ndw76, Mar 17, 2009.

1. ndw76

ndw76 New Member

I'll be the first to admit that this might be a stupid question, but I have to ask.
    I got my first DE razor in the mail today. Tomorrow morning I am going to dive into DE shaving. I have been using a straight for about four months now but I wanted a DE to take with me when I go on holiday in a few weeks time. This brings me to my question. When you insert the disposable razor into the DE razor, is there a right way up for the disposable razor?
    If this is a stupid question please feel free to tell me so.
    Cheers,
    Nathan

2. Adeptus_Minor

Adeptus_Minor Active Member

Generally flat side down is the correct way. :D

3. Hawkman

Hawkman New Member

I don't think that there is a "right side up" but I am a newb and could be wrong.

4. omegapd

omegapd New Member

either way is fine. Good luck with the shave this morning. Being a straight user, though, you should have no problems.

5. moviemaniac

moviemaniac Tool Time

Yeah, either one of the flat sides should be okay. Unless you're loading your razor horizontally, that is - in this case the edge (again, either one) should look upwards :D

6. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

and the numbers (1, 2, 3, 4) on some blades don't have any relevance to how you shave or load them in the razor.

7. jbcohen

jbcohen New Member

Short answer - no. I'll think of a long one if you want.

8. SRD

SRD Well-Known Member

No worries. Just place it in there and go.

9. Will

Will Nevermind

+1, only generally. Hypothetically is a different story.

10. RocketMan

RocketMan Active Member

Now I see your problem. I typically throw out the disposable razor, then unwrap a razor blade, and place that flat side down!! (I personally am impressed you were able to fit a disposable razor in at all!!! :happy102

11. Hraefn

Hraefn New Member