Silvertip vs. Best Badger

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by ryan0626, May 14, 2009.

1. Teiste

Teiste New Member

yeah man,sadly it happens and sometimes we feel ripped off....:mad:

2. domino

domino New Member

If you are interested in a silvertip brush, the Semogue (2015)from Vintage is very well made.I use it with Tabac with out any problems:cool:

3. highball

highball Member

+1

4. Teiste

Teiste New Member

excellent cheap quality option.

5. Special_K

Special_K New Member

what is the difference in the "HD" version?

6. Teiste

Teiste New Member

the HD version is more packed than the normal one,but still the 22mm knot.

7. Special_K

Special_K New Member

i'm just getting into brushes so i'm a little slow here...
    what is the advantage/disadvantage of that or is it just a personal choice based on feel?

8. Teiste

Teiste New Member

For me is just a personal choice.I like super or finest badger better than silvertip(in most of the cases)I like brushes with a good backbone and not floppy at all,as I use hard soaps and face lathering a lot.Others like floppy brushes as they use creams and bowl lathering or just like the feeling of softness on their faces.

9. Truckman

Truckman New Member

The more and more I use my boar, the more I'm liking the stiffness over my silvertip. I'm pretty much just face lathering now. In fact, even today I face lathered cream with my ER 100T boar. I do enjoy how nice the silvertip feels, but I seem to have been getting better performance from my boar. If I still bowl lathered (soaps or creams), I think the silvertip would do me better....

10. Special_K

Special_K New Member

i should have been more specific what does the fact that it is more packed to do the performance?

11. Teiste

Teiste New Member

well,its more packed so can hold/release more water,so technically you should be able to create more lather from it as well as to have a better backbone,but thats "technically since I havent tried it.

12. Dr. Mike