Looking into Straights....

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by UnklGus, Jun 16, 2009.

1. UnklGus

UnklGus Member

So I have been watching some videos on YouTube about straight shaving... the more I watch it the more I want to try using a straight. Looks really awesome if you ask me.....

The thing is, the only place that I have seen Straight Razors are at a reasonable fee is at antique shops, and without know enought about them, I don't want to purchase a bad one.

Here are some Questions that I have....

1. Is it ok to use an Older Straight?
    2. Are there good starter brand Staights?
    3. As a newbie (1 Month) to wetshaving, Am I crazy to want to attempt a straight razor this soon?

I am sure that there will be other questions to follow. There are just some that I have been thinking about...

thanks for your help

Gus

2. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

I am not an expert, I am just starting with straights, so my $.02 would probably require me handing you change.

As long as it is properly honed, it will be fine.

There are some lists of what look for and what to avoid..

Good brands
    ones to avoid

Look through the Wiki at straightrazorplace.com

As a newbie, why not? A lot of guys go straight to straights without mucking around with DE.

3. MsBlackwolf

MsBlackwolf Queen of Critters

+1
    Watch the classifieds here at TSD and SRP. Members sell restored and/or shave-ready razors that will be all you'd need in a razor. I have only been DE shaving since Feb, and moved into straights too. The members here have been helpful and have helped supply my newest AD ;)

4. xChris

xChris Member

1) Older straights are fine as long as they can still be honed to, and hold, a quality edge. In fac, some prefer the older straight to the crrent productions razors -- just like DEs.