Yet another, what brush to get next?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by obsidianghost, Nov 21, 2009.

1. obsidianghost

obsidianghost New Member

Ok, so I have been using a brush for only a couple of months now. I have a VDH brush and one I found in an antique shop. I have learned a little bit about what I want from them. Small handle, small knot, short loft, and dense. Looks like a Rooney 1/1 would fit the bill. Are their any others that I should consider and what grade of hair should I look at getting? I am kinda poor and will have to save up for awhile, but I like to have a defined goal. It keeps me motivated.

2. MN_Nick

MN_Nick Member

I think I've heard the motto, "get the best grade of badger you can afford". I'm happy with my Vulfix badger(about $40) and my Semogue boar(about $25). I bought the Semogue after all the great praise these brushes get and they are fairly inexpensive.

I'd recommend paging through the Brush Reviews.

3. Rene

Rene Well-Known Member

+1 on that :happy088

In my opinion all the great brushes in all the variations have been discussed here, and trust me............ There are a lot of great brushes :D

You can't be fooled by an Omega or a Semogue, if you want a fairly inexpensive brush. They have very good Boar models and the Badgers are a true pleasure!!

If there is more money to spend, or more to ask from Santa, then there is the price range up to $500 or more for a Plisson.

You might also want to check out Kimson brushes! They are absolutely beautiful, for decent prices :happy088

http://www.theshaveden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9930&highlight=Kimson

http://www.theshaveden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8762&highlight=Kimson

http://www.theshaveden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15045&highlight=Kimson