I'm on the verge...

Discussion in 'Cartridge Razors' started by scott69, Nov 30, 2009.

1. scott69

scott69 New Member

I've been shaving for over 35 years. About 5 years ago I tried DE shaving, unsuccessfully. And just recently I tried it again, unsuccessfully. I followed everyone's suggestions, tried different blades, razors and soaps, used no pressure etc., to no avail. My face has red irritation, it feels warm all day and I cannot achieve a close refreshing shave. I even changed from Aqua Velva to Witch Hazel to soothe the nicks. It seems like there are 2 choices when DE shaving. 1. A very close shave with lots of redness and nicks. 2. A very comfortable shave that looks like a 5 o'clock shadow when you're done. In fact, it seems that most of the discussions on the on-line DE shaving forums have to do with wanting a "better razor", a "sharper blade", a "more cushioning soap", "problems with this & problems with that", and there are very few people that actually say "I get a great DE shave every day and I'm satisfied with all my stuff." It's more like an endless search for something better that doesn't exist. And emphasis is on new products and preparation rather than results.
    So I'm going back to my trusty old Gillette Sensor. And I'm really looking forward to it because I haven't had a comfortable, close and refreshing shave for a while.
    (I need to change my avitar and signature soon!)

2. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Part of that is the hobby aspect of this, and part of that is the people asking for help, which is why we're here, to help.

If you've been making as many changes as you say, that's probably the reason you're having trouble. There is a technique to shaving with most of the tools discussed on this forum. You have to learn the technique first. Patience is a large factor, too.

3. scott69

scott69 New Member