Looking For Advice on Replacement for Aramis Shaving Soap

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by GHF, Feb 3, 2010.

1. GHF

GHF New Member

Just found this forum, and hope that the accumulated knowledge of it's members may help me.

I have been using Aramis Shaving Soap for over 30 years. It works well for me.

It has always been hard to find in the department stores that carry it - I got my last three cakes in November 2007 at Bloomingdales in NYC.

I have started to see Aramis stuff out on the web, but no Shaving Soap. I called the number I had from way back for Aramis, and got connected to a phone that answered Estee Lauder.

I went to esteelauder.com, and left an email asking about the soap. I just got a reply, and it indicated that the product has been discontinued.

There is a Gone But Not Forgotten ability indicated there, but it looks like I need a replacement for the longer term. A phone conversation indicated that it was discontinued in sometime mid-2009.

Since I assume that there are other users of this product that have had to find a replacement, I am asking for advise on what to try/not try to replace it.

I am interested in similar smelling soaps that lather the same way with the same, larger cake diameter - i.e. approximately 2.75 inches US or 69.85 millimeters.

I use a discontinued Wilton Armetale French coffee mug bottom as my mug. Looks like pewter, wears like iron.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Sorry, I can't help you with the Aramis. I've never used it.

That aside, welcome to the Den!

Come often, stay long, share much.
    There's a bunch of great guys, gals and info 'round here. Have fun!

3. revtriplep

revtriplep Member

I would definitely give Tabac shave soap a try.

4. jackl

jackl New Member

check out ebay

Hi I am new here to De shaving, however
    if you check out EBay there are some of the soaps you want.

5. Sabre

Sabre Well-Known Member