First Shot at Wetshaving

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by pdlbooboo, Aug 27, 2010.

1. pdlbooboo

pdlbooboo Member

I just picked up a brush and puck of Williams shaving soap today because I have a Weishi on the way. I figured I'd get the lathering and brush part down before going into total uncharted waters and was pleasantly surprised. I was blown away by how much of a better shave I got even when I stuck with the Mach III. I am hooked right now but I hope the Weishi doesn't throw me. I am a broke art student who's options aren't exactly vast at this point but if anyone has and tips or anything I would be very thankful. I did the hot steamy shower and keep the mug nice and toasty with warm water but if there are any other wetshaving secrets that can improve my experience (if that is even possible) please share.

Thanks!

2. Mynorx

Mynorx New Member

congratulations, weishi is good starter that was my first DE. I would suggest you visit youtube check out mantic59 videos very informative and accurate information. he even shaves with a weishi in a video.

3. Rene

Rene Well-Known Member

Welcome to The Shave Den :signs046

Enjoy your stay here :happy088

:sihns011

4. wildbill51

wildbill51 Member

I went through similar steps to you and was surprised just how better things were with made lather instead of the canned goo :D

5. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

:happy088:happy088

Welcome to the Den!

6. Welcome!!! ;)

7. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

Welcome to TSD! This is the best wet shave board on the planet!

I used to have a Gunmetal Weishi, until SWMBO kipped it for her legs. It was a nice mild shaver, perfect for getting started.

8. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

Welcome to TSD!

Let me share two pieces of advice:
    1) Sign up for the August Newbie Give-Away for a chance to win some great gear. You can't a much better start that the luck person who wins this every month!