Feather AC Experience/Discussion

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by xChris, Aug 27, 2007.

1. jfrancisco

jfrancisco New Member

I have been shaving with a Feather now for about 18 months and once I got the technique down it became my number one go to razor. Probably the biggest lesson I had to learn, besides the horizontal cutting motion that gave me quite the reputation around school, was that it was ok to finish my shave with a DE. While I was learning, I had problems shaving the lower neck. Things improved when I gave myself permission to finish the shave with a gentle DE if the shave started going wrong (cut/nicked myself). This prevented me from tearing myself up too badly and taking several days to heal. Everyday got progressively better, being able to get further along in my shave, changing to a DE when I would cut myself. It became a game with the end result of having mastered shaving with a straight razor.

Advice . . . take it slow. It took me months to master, but then again I am in a career where a nice training scar ::duel across my cheek would not work too well, so take your time. I've recently switched to using a Merkur DE, but that is only because my schedule right now is SO hectic that I can't take the time to enjoy a nice leisurely shave. Maybe in a couple of weeks . . . :bounce015

2. TstebinsB

TstebinsB Active Member

Thanks!

My only issues are the jawline and chin. I can get the jawline BBS but I have to really slow the shave down. Right now, I use a DE to finish the chin off. I'm definitely making progress though. I want BBS shaves to be easy. I get it with a DE but the BBS doesn't last as long compared to a Feather BBS shave. In two shaves, I've only had 2 cuts per shave and moderate razor burn. Hopefully, it works out because I'd like it to be my go-to razor.

3. qhsdoitall

qhsdoitall Wilbur

Feather ACD-N ACR-N Non Folding Straight