Brass Gillette razor

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Tarant, Jul 3, 2011.

1. Tarant

Tarant New Member

Hello, I recently picked up this razor an antique shop and would like some info on it.

From what i can tell it is brass, (at one time may have had a gold coating) Old Type, open comb, solid ball type.

Somthings I would like to know is, How old is it? and how aggressive is it?.
    I am a DE Wet shaving noob and am just wondering if I should even try to shave with it now, I have a Merkur 23c now.

Also the handle is split up near the head, Can I just solder the parts back together.

I will get pics up asap.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. IAmTheJody

IAmTheJody Gillette-i Master Staff Member

Yes, all early Gillette razors were plated brass from their beginning in 1904 until about the late 1930s. If there's no serial number on it anywhere, most likely it's from the 1920s. Cracks, splits and hairline fractures are common in these older Gillettes as the brass wasn't mixed right. Even never-used ones often cracked/fractured just from age. I've never tried to fix a crack so I couldn't give you any insight there.

3. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

You are correct that it is a ball end, old type which is an open comb.

Like Jody said, this one would have been likely made in the 20's.

Yes, the cracked handle can be soldered together. If it is a small crack it doesn't affect much. If the crack is large enough then the pieces of the handle may fall out. Those can be epoxied in as well.

In regards to how it shaves, this is one of the more aggressive Gillette 3 piece razors. Some love these, and some find them too aggressive. They aren't that bad. However, if you are just starting out, I would suggest sticking to the Merkur until you have your technique down before beginning razor hopping. Now, if you have been at it for a while, then try it out.

4. Oldguy

Oldguy Member