Fatboy Questions

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by lindyhopper66, Feb 9, 2012.

1. lindyhopper66

lindyhopper66 Well-Known Member

I just bought a slightly damaged Fatboy on eBay for $25. Here's the description:

UP FOR AUCTION IS 1-9 ADJUSTABLE FAT BOY AND BLADES THIS RAZOR IS A CLEAN ONE PLATING IS GOOD 1-9 CLICKS GOOD BUT WHEN ADJUSTING IT YOU HAVE TO SHOVE UP ON THE END TO OPEN FLAPS IM NO EXPERT ON RAZORS IT IS A E-2 MAKE SURE YOU CHECK OUT ALL THE PICTURES SOLD AS SHOWN

1) Do you think if I clean it up with scrubbing bubbles and then add oil, a miracle will happen and I won't have to "shove the end to open flaps" or is there a thread or connection that could be screwed up somehow. And is there someone that can fix these things or is it a simple fix, I can do?

2) I have trouble shaving with my Merkur 38C barberpole HD because of the weight. Will the Fatboy have the same feel? ( I do have a Gillette super adjustable black handle that feels fine.)

2. Rob72

Rob72 Member

"Push up to open", is a sign of a worn retaining ring- that little smooth band around the barrel just above the TTO knob. This is where the modified pipe-cutter fix comes in. Basically, you re-crimp the band slightly. IIRC, someone on B&B posted his experience doing this recently- can't remember if he's here as well, but searching, "pipe cutter fix", should turn it up.

I don't have a Merkur(well, a Pomco slant), but I'm thinking you will be alright. It obviousuly is subjective, but, while it is heavier than other TTOs, I don't find the FB at all unweildy.

3. burnout961

burnout961 Well-Known Member