I strayed from my IPs, and it wasn't pretty

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by peacefrog, Sep 27, 2007.

1. peacefrog

peacefrog Jet Setter

I've been using IPs exclusively for several months, so I decided just a bit of experimentation was in order. First I tried the Topaz blades I found in a local Indian grocery. It gave me a comfortable, though not particularly close shave. Then I tried some Sharps, and those work pretty well for me. Then I tried a Feather, although I've used them on occasion in the past. As I was shaving with the Feather I thought I was getting a great shave. When I was done, I looked like I lost a fight! So I went back to the Topaz. This time it just tugged and pulled and gave me the most uncomfortable shave I can remember. So I'm back to my IPs. Can anything unseat them?

2. qhsdoitall

qhsdoitall Wilbur

Derby maybe.

3. TstebinsB

TstebinsB Active Member

While I use a variety of blades, Dorco has been very good to me.

4. johnniegold

johnniegold New Member

@ Peacefrog: So I'm back to my IPs. Can anything unseat them?

If they work for you, then nothing should unseat them.

Like Telly, I use a variety of blades, but I like the IP's best. They just work well for me. In today's SOS, I used a Merkur 23c and an IP. I think this may just be my favorite razor/blade set-up. I bought a box of 100 IPs some 5 or 6 months and just bought a box of about 70 from another member. They are it for me. I still use Derby and 7am and get great shaves from both. But IP is the "go to" blade for me when it just has to be right.

5. TraderJoe

TraderJoe Pink Floid

Word. Unless you're like me and are a glutton for variety, then its probably best to stick with 'old faithful'

ps - Bob(peacefrog Bob), I owe you a PM (I have not forgotten) :D

6. Will

Will Nevermind

I stuck with IP's for a while too.

Now I have become an official Neckcutta.........er Blade Tester. :D

7. jbcohen

jbcohen New Member