Advice on open comb shaving - Fatip Grande

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by PBSax, Aug 17, 2012.

1. PBSax

PBSax Member

I'm relatively new at DE shaving and have been having good shaves with fairly mild closed comb razors. (Wilkinson Sword Classic - okay the mildest you can get) and a Merkur 23C. That's been my collection so far. I shave using Derby or Merkur blades. (I know lots of people dislike the Merkur blades, but they came with the razor and they've worked fine for me!)

I wanted to eplore the more aggressive end to see what that's all about. So, I'm now the proud owner of a Fatip Grande. Thing is, I was really looking forward to its arrival and now a bit nervous about using it!

The leading edge of a closed comb really isn't that much different to a cartridge razor. There's a bar, and then a sharp edge which does the cutting. But the open comb looks pretty wild in comparison.

I notice the Fatip has far more blade exposure than the Merkur, and the blade when fitted seems a lot more dished than in the Merkur, which lies much flatter.

So any advice on using it? Is the technique any different?
    The Fatip came with a pack of Astra blades which I intend to try.

I usually shave with Arko shave stick, Palmolive cream (tube) or Proraso shave soap.

I'd really appreciate any advice, or moral support!

178-bplatoon likes this.
  2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Use it like any other razor: no pressure, start with the head flat against the face and the handle parallel to the floor, no pressure, start your shave stroke, no pressure, lower the handle until you hear/feel the blade start to cut whiskers, no pressure, there is your optimum angle, no pressure, you'll do fine, no pressure, keep shaving. Oh, yeah, no pressure ;)

3. Hanzo

Hanzo Well-Known Member

I have the Grande and Piccolo and enjoy using them. Fatips are a tad more aggressive but a mild blade like the one's you list work well for me.