7am platinum blades

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by carsnoceans, Oct 13, 2012.

1. carsnoceans

carsnoceans New Member

Just started on wet shaving week or two ago... my merkur long handle came with a merkur blade which was pretty awesome. Besides that I purchased a 100ct of 7am platinum blades for $14.

My first 7am blade lasted me 3 shaves doing 2-3 passes on each shave. Might be a little too much but I am still learning what is the best way for me... along the grain, against... one along and then against.. etc. Anyways, today was my 4th shave and it was just terrible even in the first pass. Didn't cut very well and I am wary of applying any excess pressure.

Is that normal life for a blade? Just trying to get an understanding here on life of the blade etc. Thanks much.

2. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    There really is no norm.
    Too many variables. The blade, the razor, the person shaving, etc.

Many folks simply change the blade when they feel any tugging or discomfort from the blade. Blades are cheap enough. No sense in suffering through a bad shave.

Monkeylord likes this.
  3. Falcon43

Falcon43 Active Member

Truer words were never spoken.

4. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    :signs011:
    Just switching from taking a shower before the shave, to just splashing water on the face before the shave is enough to knock 2 or 3 days off of a blade's life. (for me).

5. carsnoceans

carsnoceans New Member

I didn't wait for any tugging or discomfort (this is only my 3rd blade). As I said before, I don't use any pressure to avoid cuts/nicks. So if it stops giving me a nice clean cut, I am assuming its done?? Should I apply pressure on the razor handle?

6. Queen of Blades

No. It's only going to make the shave worse.

7. carsnoceans

carsnoceans New Member

So i am doing it right?

8. Queen of Blades

By not applying pressure? yes