Difference in cheap and expensive soaps

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Hayter, Oct 19, 2012.

1. Hayter

Hayter Active Member

Ok, so being that I am completely new to this wet shaving thing. I have aquired some shaving soaps and have orders more. I try to spend maybe about 3 to 6 bucks on a bar of soap or soap puck as it were.

Is there a really big difference in the soaps that are say 7 bucks Vs the ones that they sell for like 30 bucks? Im not quite understanding the cost difference and was hoping that someone could possibly help justify spending that much on a shave soap.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

I, like many here, are quite happy with soaps that cost less than $2 - Van Der Hagen, Williams, Arko, several others.
    Most of the less costly (I refuse to use the word cheap, it has a conotation of meaning not worth much) soaps are cold pour and made with glycerine. Not being a soap maker, I can only assume this is a cheaper method. Most of the more costly soaps are triple milled (again, I'm not a soap maker, so I don't know how this figures into the cost).

That being said, a triple milled soap will last quite substantialy longer than a cold pour soap, thus, although more expensive per puck, it just might be cheaper per shave.

For me, I do believe some soaps are just flat over priced. A refill puck of Art of Shaving soap is $26. Yes, it's a great soap, but so is C&E and TSD. The only reason I have a puck of AoS soap is because I was given an AoS gift card for my birthday.

Bottom line, when it comes to soaps, more money DOES NOT always mean a better shave.

178-bplatoon and newb like this.
  3. Hayter

Hayter Active Member

Ok, so its good to know that I am not going about things the wrong way and buying the less expensive soaps. I did recently purchase Col Conk and the soap was only like 3 bucks, but is raved about. So I hope that get a good lather from it. I still need to buy a better brush. lmao